Announcement – My Top 100 Films

its-a-wonderful-life-3With schoolwork and the impending holiday season on the horizon, your friendly neighborhood blogger here at Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Film Club got a little sidetracked on other projects.  In lieu of traditional focused content, I’ve decided instead to do a series highlighting my all-time favorites films – a daunting task for any film lover.  I’ve narrowed the list to one hundred incredible films – and even though I’m not entirely satisfied with the end result – I’ve decided to share it with all of you anyways.  I found myself going back and revising the list over and over again, but in the end I decided to stick with the list in its current incarnation. Many terrific films and filmmakers were kept off the list due to the limited numbers of spots, so there is some possibility for a further “top two hundred” list somewhere down the line.  I hope to roll out the list as quickly as possible, covering each film separately.  I’ve decided to make an effort to cover two (or more) films each day, meaning the project will span several months.

In the New Year I hope to look at my favorite films and albums of 2016, but not before I feel as if I’ve seen the so-called best the year has to offer.  Following these lists, the Lonely Hearts Film Club will return to its regularly scheduled programming.  I hope to highlight the following subjects in the coming months (examples also listed):

  • Screwball Comedy (Nothing Sacred, To Be or Not to Be, Ball of Fire, The Palm Beach Story)
  • Palme d’Or Winners (The Tin Drum, Ballad of Narayama, Pelle the Conqueror, Secrets & Lies, Rosetta)
  • War Films (City of Life and Death, Cross of Iron, Fires on the Plain, Kanal, The Burmese Harp)
  • Best Picture Winners (A Man For All Seasons, All the King’s Men, The Last Emperor, Braveheart, Wings)

Happy holidays from Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Film Club!

Leave a comment

Filed under Other, Top 100 Films

Leave a Reply

